At the beginning of 2016 Illinois implemented new laws that affect people charged with Driving Under the Influence citations (DUIs). The reasoning behind the changes was to allow people to continue driving without any unnecessary hardships imposed, even after being charge with a DUI.
One of the main changes associated with the new law is the removal of the “hard suspension period.” In the past, Illinois required drivers charged with a DUI to not drive for 30 days once their driving suspension period started. Even if drivers could get approved for a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) device and Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP) immediately, they still had to wait until 30 days after their driving suspension period started to utilize the BAIID and MDDP. Now drivers do not have to wait 30 days after the start of the driving suspension period to utilize the BAIID and MDDP. The law change allows drivers to continue driving during the now old 30-day hard suspension period, as long as the BAIID and MDDP are utlilized, without having to find alternate means of transportation to and from work during those 30 days. (Source 1)
Criminal defense attorneys around the state argued that the old 30-day hard suspension period did nothing more than hinder people who recently got DUIs. Further, instead of keeping people who recently received a DUI off the road, the 30-day hard suspension period instead led to more people driving illegally during the 30-day period because they had no other transportation options or would rather risk driving illegally instead of find alternate means of transportation. (Source 1)
While there are still numerous issues with the DUI laws in the state of Illinois that need to be addressed, this is one issue that needed to corrected and thankfully was.
If you receive a DUI, are involved in a traffic accident, receive any other traffic citation or need help with any other criminal defense matter contact the Bloomington, Illinois attorneys at the Finegan Law Firm.